Devotional October 11, 2015

Week of October 11, 2015

Continue to practice the rhythm of loving and serving the city.  So far we have focused on the Nurturing and Social communities of our city.  This week we focus on loving and serving the Political community.

 

Monday:

Read Jonah 3:1-10                                 

Questions for Reflection and Application

What prompted the king’s actions?  What actions can we take to prompt our political leaders?

Is communal repentance important?  Why or why not?

Prayer Focus

Pray for the mayor of Santa Rosa, John Sawyer.  Consider writing him an encouraging email (jsawyer@srcity.org)

 

Tuesday:  The irony of yesterday’s reading is that a foreign enemy shows the people of God what true repentance looks like.  God speaks through Jeremiah, calling the people to national repentance.

Read Jeremiah 18:1-11

Questions for Reflection and Application

Are God’s plans set in “concrete” or “wet clay?”  What effect can you have on God’s plans?

What do you think God’s message is to our city today?

 

Prayer Focus

Pray for the City Council members of Santa Rosa: Chris Coursey (ccoursey@srcity.org), Erin Carlstrom (ecarlstrom@srcity.org), Julie Combs (jcombs@srcity.org), Ernesto Olivares (eolivares@srcity.org), Tom Schwedhelm (tschwedhelm@srcity.org) and Gary Wysocky (gwysocky@srcity.org).  Consider writing each of them an encouraging email.

 

Wednesday: Paul urges us to pray for everyone, especially the leaders of our city.  It is God’s desire that everyone be saved.

Read 1 Timothy 2:1-4

Questions for Reflection and Application

Do you need to agree with a leader in order to pray for him or her?

What does good citizenship look like?

Prayer Focus

Pray for City Staff:  Sean McGlynn, City Manager; Gloria Hurtado, Deputy City Manager; Caroline Fowler, City Attorney; Terri Griffin, City Clerk.

 

Thursday:  We continue to reflect on the relationship between followers of Christ and the State.

Read 1 Peter 2:13-17

Questions for Reflection and Application

What is the connection between your faith and accepting the authority of human institutions?

Is there ever a time when your faith would lead you not to accept the authority of some human institution? (see Acts 5:29).

Prayer Focus

Pray for Hank Schreeder, Police Chief and Tony Gossner, Fire Chief

 

Friday:  Paul reflects on having a respect for the State.

Read Romans 13:1-10

Questions for Reflection and Application

What does respect for the state look like?

Does respect always mean acceptance?  Under what conditions might a follower of Jesus resist the Government?

Prayer Focus

Pray for all city staff.

 

AttachmentSize
devotional2015-10-11.pdf337.97 KB

Page Topic: 

Event Date: 

Sun, 10/11/2015 - 09:00